BookBest US | UK | Germany
arts   biographies   business   children   computers   cooking   engineering  
entertainment   gay   health   history   home   law   medicine   nonfiction   outdoors   parenting   professional   reference   religion   science   sports   teens   travel  
 Help  
Medicine - Education & Training - Test Preparation & Review

1-20 of 200       1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   Next 20

click price to see details     click image to enlarge     click link to go to the store

$50.40
1. Kaplan New MCAT Premier Program,
$595.23
2. Frontrunner's Internal Medicine
$74.20
3. Color Atlas of Anatomy: A Photographic
$35.96
4. First Aid for the USMLE Step 3
$41.35
5. First Aid for the USMLE Step 1:
$26.37
6. Examkrackers 101 Passages in MCAT
$35.80
7. Certification Exam Review: The
$45.45
8. Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews:
$34.95
9. Clinical Cardiology Made Ridiculously
$45.45
10. Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews:
$34.95
11. First Aid for the Medicine Clerkship
$26.95
12. ACLS Study Guide
$39.95
13. Surgical Recall (Recall Series)
$125.97
14. Examkrackers MCAT Audio Osmosis
$41.35
15. First Aid for the USMLE Step 2
$46.01
16. Appleton & Lange Review of
$29.70
17. Kaplan PCAT, 2007 Edition : Pharmacy
$33.26
18. Rapid Review Pathology (Rapid
$33.95
19. Crush Step 3
$29.95
20. Case Files: Internal Medicine

1. Kaplan New MCAT Premier Program, 2007 Edition (Kaplan Mcat Premier Program)
by Kaplan Education
Paperback (01 August, 2006)
list price: $80.00 -- our price: $50.40
(price subject to change: see help)
Isbn: 1419551094
Sales Rank: 1279
US | Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

Subjects:  1. MCAT (Medical College Admission Test)    2. Study Aids    3. Study Guides    4. Test Prep    5. Business & Economics / General    6. Examinations & assessment    7. Medical / Test Preparation & Review   


2. Frontrunner's Internal Medicine Board Review Syllabus 2006
by FRONTRUNNERS PUBLISHING
Spiral-bound (15 September, 2005)
list price: $595.23 -- our price: $595.23
(price subject to change: see help)
Isbn: 0967702518
Sales Rank: 489463
Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars
US | Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

Reviews (16)

5-0 out of 5 stars Recipe for success ...
This is a must-have for the I.M. CERT exam. The starred items, my favorites, pointed to recently asked material, which made my studying alot more enjoyable. In my opinion, nothing comes close to Frontrunners' review. My partners used it for their internal medicine RECERT and were equally pleased. As for me, I wouldn't have passed without it. Make sure you get through it at least twice before the exam since there was a load of material on the exam right out of the syllabus. I also went hit all of Frontrunners practice Q&A for the I.M. boards and got both from their www.frontrunners.info website (they had samples there, etc). In my opinion, if you're serious about passing or want to excel, you'd be foolish NOT to get a copy of these, even from a friend, before sitting for the exam.

1-0 out of 5 stars this book is not worth the price
I was shocked after going through the book.This book is extremely inadequate for boards.you may get other reviews at one-fifth price.

5-0 out of 5 stars Internal Medicine Board Review Course 2005-2006 Exceptional
My partner and I got the av-3 package from their www.frontrunners.info website in preparation for the August internal medicine board review exam because we simply had to pass. The package we got had this syllabus, over a thousand practice Q&A, obviously a huge plus on the exam, and the Audiovisual CDs from the review, which were the best we could find anywhere. We just got our board scores back from the ABIM and both of us scored in the top decile, 10, in all areas but one (which was the one chapter he didn't have time to read). Hope this information helps others who are in a similar situation, have to pass "or else", and are simply looking for the best internal medicine board review out there. Exceptionalreview. Four thumbs up in our case. ... Read more

Subjects:  1. Education & Training    2. Internal Medicine    3. Medical    4. Medical / Internal Medicine    5. Medical / Test Preparation & Review    6. Test Preparation & Review   


3. Color Atlas of Anatomy: A Photographic Study of the Human Body
by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins
Hardcover (01 April, 2006)
list price: $74.95 -- our price: $74.20
(price subject to change: see help)
Isbn: 0781790131
Sales Rank: 12495
Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars
US | Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

Reviews (1)

5-0 out of 5 stars Essential Atlas for Gross Anatomy
Although Netter's classic drawings are helpful in understanding the layout of human body systems, I find that this 6th Edition of Rohen is outstanding due to the excellent photography of professionally-dissected cadavers.It is much easier to identify complex structures on real cadavers in a Gross Anatomy lab using this reference; moreover, it is helpful as a tool to study when the cadaver lab is not open.Real bodies are much more difficult to analyze than idealized drawings--with this book, you can review before a laboratory excercise and have a more realistic expectation of what you are going to actually see.
Read more

Subjects:  1. Anatomy    2. Atlases    3. Medical    4. Medical / Nursing    5. Medical / Test Preparation & Review   


4. First Aid for the USMLE Step 3 (First Aid)
by McGraw-Hill Medical
Paperback (16 December, 2004)
list price: $39.95 -- our price: $35.96
(price subject to change: see help)
Isbn: 0071421831
Sales Rank: 4685
Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars
US | Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

Reviews (10)

5-0 out of 5 stars Excellent!
Just finished taking step 3...I highly recommend First Aid, it is concise and, most importantly, the information in the text is relevant to the actual exam. It is easy to get through and I actually learned quite a bit reading it. Lastly, the description and tips it provides for the new interactive section of step 3 was invaluable, trust me.
5-0 out of 5 stars THe only review book with CCS case work.
I've always been a fan of first aid books. painless review. read this once, did qbank and the cd for the test.

5-0 out of 5 stars DYNOMITE
A must have -- read this book and you will pass, Ofcourse you have to do question. Easy to understand and the highlights are on the money-- I am very happy ... Read more

Subjects:  1. Medical    2. Medical / Nursing    3. Test Preparation & Review    4. Clinical & Internal Medicine    5. Medical / Test Preparation & Review   


5. First Aid for the USMLE Step 1: 2006 (First Aid for the Usmle Step 1)
by McGraw-Hill Medical
Paperback (19 December, 2005)
list price: $44.95 -- our price: $41.35
(price subject to change: see help)
Isbn: 0071461159
Sales Rank: 2420
Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars
US | Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

Reviews (23)

5-0 out of 5 stars Primary Step 1 Resource
There is a reason this book is ubiquitous among students studying for USMLE Step 1: it gets results. It contains a section giving advice for studying for the test, high-yield facts and figures for the subjects, and reviews of other resources. It is a great value for the price.
3-0 out of 5 stars A good place to begin
Having just taken the Step 1, I have to say that I am considerably less enthused with this book than most everyone else. It does do a good job of reviewing the basic points and some of the associated details. However, I found that quite a few items on my test did not appear in First Aid at all, and that overall the level of detail was insufficient. I was also using QBank and BSR and altogether they still failed to include enough material on courses taught in the first year, specifically pharmacology and cellular pathways, which were heavily emphasized on the exam. So while this book is definitely a nice point to jump off from, it could use some heavy updating.

5-0 out of 5 stars All you need - nothing more
This book lives up to more than its title has suggested. Its extremely high-yield contents are all you need (you wonder how they know all these). Read it a few times and memorise it all (if you can) and it's a slam dunk! ... Read more

Subjects:  1. Medical    2. Medical / Nursing    3. Test Preparation & Review    4. First aid & paramedical services    5. Medical / Test Preparation & Review   


6. Examkrackers 101 Passages in MCAT Verbal Reasoning (Examkrackers)
by Osote Publishing
Paperback (15 August, 2002)
list price: $39.95 -- our price: $26.37
(price subject to change: see help)
Isbn: 1893858243
Sales Rank: 3603
Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars
US | Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

Reviews (21)

3-0 out of 5 stars Very difficult questions
Passages are easier to read than Princeton Review and AAMC tests.The wording of the questions is not as convoluted as the AAMC tests.However, the questions are very difficult to answer.Often times there is not enough information in the passage to correctly answer the questions, and it seems like there could be information to support more than one answer choice.While it's true that questions on AAMC practice MCATs 7,8,9 have many attractive 'trap' answer choices, this book takes that to the extreme.Therefore, I don't know if this is an accurate representation of the verbal section.

3-0 out of 5 stars Decent Practice, but Far from Perfect
Given the usually high profiled stuff from ExamKrackers, this book was for me a disappointment. Let me just say that if you want to score high on verbal, more practice is a must, therefore it's logical to get this book. However, if you are looking for a very clean practice, this book doesn't deliver. While i recognize that verbal section on the MCAT can easily allude to personal bias and subjective opinions, on the actual MCAT the 'correct' answer should be easily justified from the 'inccorect' answers. Around a little over 2/3 of the questions in this book fit that description, everything else is full of ambiguous and unsupported answers, many passages tho interesting are abstract and difficult to read. This can get extremely frustrating if you are expecting to see concrete improvements. However, by dealing with these flaws, and sometimes overly difficult (downright impossible or simply incorrect) questions, you might still gain something that will give u an extra edge on the actual MCAT, which could be sufficently more clear and precise given that it is the verbal section.

5-0 out of 5 stars Verbal Reasoning is not easy, GET THIS!!
As hard as you'll work on preparation for this exam- your preparation for the Verbal Reasoning section will be the most important. Most people complain about this section. I was included, until I took studying for it head on. I needed all the practice I could get and this book gave me 2 passages a day for 50 days. I timed myself (18 min total, 9 minutes a passage for the two) and corrected it that day. It increased my speed and ability. The guys that write these Exam Krackers books only want you to do well. I can tell after working on this stuff for five months straight that is the case. -Matthew Wolak ... Read more

Subjects:  1. MCAT (Medical College Admission Test)    2. Study Guides    3. Test Prep    4. Test Preparation & Review   


7. Certification Exam Review: The Pharmacy Technician Series
by Prentice Hall
Paperback (08 July, 2005)
list price: $35.80 -- our price: $35.80
(price subject to change: see help)
Isbn: 0131147390
Sales Rank: 24099
Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars
US | Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

Reviews (2)

5-0 out of 5 stars An excellent overview
There is a very good reason this series is endorsed by the NPTA.Of the six or so books that I used to study for the exam, this was the most helpful by far.It reviews every topic on the exam, and is a great starting place to see what you need more work on.This is the book that got me a passing score on the exam, and I don't really think I can give it higher praise than that.

5-0 out of 5 stars Great workbook
This book is a great study guide to prepare for the certification exam. The book is easy to read and it leaves out all the fluff that is in the other study books. After reading and doing the practice exams I found what my weaknesses were and was able to go back to my schoolbooks to strengthen those areas. I took the certification exam this month (March) and think I did fine; there are a lot of math questions in the exam and wish I spent more time in that area.
Read more

Subjects:  1. Allied Health Services - General    2. Medical    3. Medical / Nursing    4. Pharmacy    5. Test Preparation & Review    6. Health systems & services    7. Medical / Allied Health Services / General   


8. Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry (Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews Series)
by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins
Paperback (01 July, 2004)
list price: $49.95 -- our price: $45.45
(price subject to change: see help)
Isbn: 0781722659
Sales Rank: 4421
Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars
US | Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

Reviews (54)

5-0 out of 5 stars good!
This was a very good book for coursework, especially since the syllabus from BOD wasn't that good. For the boards, I just skimmed this book, particularly paying attention to the end of chapter summaries...I read through first aid biochem, and any topic I felt was hard to grasp i would re-read it in lippincotts. recommend this for boards when studying pathways... rememeber only study and read about pathways that are represented in first aid...and pay attention to rate limiting reactions!!!

5-0 out of 5 stars LWW Illustrated Biochem
An excellent book for coursework in both undergrad and first year medschool, plus the tie-in with LWW Illus. Pharm. is a great duet.Our first year biochem was horribly taught, this book helped immensely, and look forward to using it for quick reference review in year 2 and Board study.

5-0 out of 5 stars GREAT review
I am now a believer.I was skeptical about purchasing the review series, but I used it to study for comps, and I was amazed at how easy I was able to get through the material.The summaries are exceptional and as a biochemist, it served as wonderful starting point, pointing out critical processes- and giving a "big picture" framework-- which made learning the details far easier.I highly recommend the text. ... Read more

Subjects:  1. Biochemistry    2. Chemistry - General    3. Medical    4. Physiology    5. Science    6. Medical / Test Preparation & Review   


9. Clinical Cardiology Made Ridiculously Simple (MedMaster Series 2006 Edition) (Medmaster Ridiculously Simple)
by Medmaster
Paperback (01 October, 2006)
list price: $34.95 -- our price: $34.95
(price subject to change: see help)
Isbn: 0940780631
Sales Rank: 6654
Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars
US | Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

Reviews (10)

4-0 out of 5 stars Excellent Cardiology Book Review by Dr. James Thogtam
DR. Chizner's book is the most well founded and delightful book to read. As a former clinical professor in nursing, this book is the only one nurses will need. Do not waste your money on other books, this one is the best. All nurses who practice cardiology on any level, should buy this book. It is a keeper for life!
5-0 out of 5 stars review of cardiology
The book is just FANTASTIC. The reproduction of heart sounds is something absolutely necessary for the physician, but you cannot find real patients to hear all of these sounds. The addition of the CD, with this and other very important features is just too impressive to describe.
5-0 out of 5 stars S. B. Steadman MSN, CVN, RN
DR. Chizner's book is the most well founded and delightful book to read. As a former clinical professor in nursing, this book is the only one nurses will need. Do not waste your money on other books, this one is the best. All nurses who practice cardiology on any level, should buy this book. It is a keeper for life!
Read more

Subjects:  1. Audio Adult: Other    2. Cardiology    3. Medical / Nursing    4. Test Preparation & Review   


10. Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews: Pharmacology (Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews Series)
by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins
Paperback (01 August, 2005)
list price: $49.95 -- our price: $45.45
(price subject to change: see help)
Isbn: 0781741181
Sales Rank: 4075
Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars
US | Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

Reviews (36)

4-0 out of 5 stars Great, but the same as the older edition
Lippincott Pharm is a fabulous book for medical students. It has the basics clearly outlined and nice tables to help you memorize them. The text is brief and clear. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that it seems to be identical to the older edition, except that the little diagrams are in color. It's a lot more expensive than the older edition (millennium update edition) though! Take a look at the two together before you decide whether you want to shell out the money for the newer one.
5-0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!
This book is amazing..Its so easy to read and so easy to understand. Goes through the chapters smoothly, providing all the information needed. Its especially helpfull to students but also can be used as a reference book. Most importandly, the illustration is impressive!!The tables, drawings, sketches and little pictures make it easier to memorize importand concepts and basic information and thus can make pharmacology fun!!

5-0 out of 5 stars very good for coursework
I read this book along with my syllabus from BOD. This clears up some of the topics that aren't presented too clearly during BOD. It helped me do well in pharmacology. For the boards, this book should just be used as a reference if there are any concepts you don't understand in first aid. ... Read more

Subjects:  1. Medical    2. Medical / Nursing    3. Pharmacology    4. Test Preparation & Review    5. Medical / Test Preparation & Review   


11. First Aid for the Medicine Clerkship (First Aid)
by McGraw-Hill Medical
Paperback (15 September, 2005)
list price: $34.95 -- our price: $34.95
(price subject to change: see help)
Isbn: 0071448756
Sales Rank: 12707
Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars
US | Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

Reviews (10)

5-0 out of 5 stars Great christmas gift!
I got this book for as a christmas gift but since it came unwrapped, I checked it out right away- it is awesome! This second edition has a smooother look to it, with more radiographs and tables. I have always been a fan of the margin tips and this edition does a great job with them. I have my medicine clerkship coming up next and already feel I am ahead of the game.
2-0 out of 5 stars Weak.
You can read my comparative amazon review of 3 titles - 'Blueprints Medicine', 'First Aid for the Medicine Clerkship', & 'Step-Up to Medicine' at 'Blueprints Medicine', ISBN:1405105003
2-0 out of 5 stars Not my favorite
I think a lot of people buy this book due to all the hype around First Aid for Step 1 (and for that book, deservedly so).Don't fall for that!This is my take on it:
Read more

Subjects:  1. Career Choice    2. Clinical Clerkship    3. Fellowships and Scholarships    4. Handbooks    5. Internal Medicine    6. Medical    7. Medical / Nursing    8. Test Preparation & Review    9. Clinical & Internal Medicine    10. Medical / Internal Medicine   


12. ACLS Study Guide
by Mosby
Paperback (14 September, 2006)
list price: $26.95 -- our price: $26.95
(price subject to change: see help)
Isbn: 0323046959
Sales Rank: 7618
Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars
US | Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

Reviews (1)

5-0 out of 5 stars ACLS Study Guide 3rd ED
I love this book!The author sounds exactly like me...scared to death to take an ACLS course.I have just started using this book but so far it has helped to calm my fears/anxiety. I also have the American Heart Association book, but this one explains things very basically for those of us not in critical care and/or have no critical care experience.It gets to the point in an understandable way.I would recommend it to anyone!
Read more

Subjects:  1. Cardiology    2. Medical    3. Medical / Nursing    4. Test Preparation & Review    5. Accident & emergency medicine    6. First aid & paramedical services    7. Medical / Cardiology   


13. Surgical Recall (Recall Series)
by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins
Paperback (01 May, 2005)
list price: $39.95 -- our price: $39.95
(price subject to change: see help)
Isbn: 0781786088
Sales Rank: 6750
Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars
US | Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

Reviews (30)

5-0 out of 5 stars Great book for the wards and the NBME shelf
This is a must have during surgery clerkships. It's broken down into concise chapters that can quickly be reviewed (5-10 minutes) before a case or a conference. For example, we had a right hepatic lobectomy case on a patient with hepatocellular carcinoma. I spent about 20 minutes in the physicians locker room reviewing the liver chapters before the case. In surgery, I was easily able to answer nearly all questions from the staff surgeon and the chief resident. Most pimp questions can be found in this book. This book definitely gives you an edge on the clerkship. It provides fast access to many pertinent concepts that you'll need day in and day out on the wards, in the SICU and in the OR. Many pocket textbooks are just dead weight in your coat. This one is actually very useful.
4-0 out of 5 stars Pimpin' ain't easy...
But Surgical Recall makes it easier.Basically, people get Recall for two reasons:1)they're not interested in surgery but have to rotate and do well in itor 2)they're genuinely interested in surgery.
5-0 out of 5 stars of unlimited value to house officers
whether you're planning to specialize in surgery or not, it is invaluable for you.
Read more

Subjects:  1. Examination Questions    2. Examinations, questions, etc    3. Medical    4. Medical / Nursing    5. Surgery    6. Surgery - General    7. Surgical Procedures, Operative    8. Medical / Test Preparation & Review   


14. Examkrackers MCAT Audio Osmosis with Jordan and Jon (Examkrackers)
by Osote Publishing
Audio CD (05 November, 2001)
list price: $199.95 -- our price: $125.97
(price subject to change: see help)
Isbn: 1893858235
Sales Rank: 12090
Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars
US | Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

Features

  • Unknown format

Reviews (34)

5-0 out of 5 stars Jordan and Jon's voice will be echoing in your head
The Examkrackers series is absolutely wonderful, and I think the Audio Osmosis really helps to reinforce concepts.It should be utilised as a supplement to TPR, Kaplan or EK books.

4-0 out of 5 stars extra help for mcat prep
This seems like a good way to review. I have taken the mcat once (w/o audio osmosis) and am studying to take it again. So far, I've listened to the discs once through, and I think that being able to hear concepts while at work or on the train to/from work will help cement them in addition to reading, reviewing, and taking practice tests. DO NOT think you'll ace the mcat w/o practice tests, but it's an amusing set of discs with some good sound effects, asides, and mnemonics to help commit concepts to memory. I'm pretty confident it should help.

5-0 out of 5 stars Secretroute Book Review ; It Rocks
The reviewer named "Book Reviewer" Listed below is fake. I brought a book from secret route 2 months ago I recieved it within a week, it is very good and useful book. 60 essays and 50 answers are very effective and worth the price. "Book reviewer" is not a real person, he has no other reviews on amazon, he is fake! ... Read more

Subjects:  1. Abridged Audio - Misc. Nonfiction    2. Audio Adult: Books On Tape    3. MCAT (Medical College Admission Test)    4. Test Preparation & Review   


15. First Aid for the USMLE Step 2 CK (First Aid)
by McGraw-Hill Medical
Paperback (07 September, 2005)
list price: $44.95 -- our price: $41.35
(price subject to change: see help)
Isbn: 0071443363
Sales Rank: 4131
Average Customer Review: 3.5 out of 5 stars
US | Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

Reviews (26)

2-0 out of 5 stars Not as good as First Aid for Step 1
I was very disappointed with this resource for CK prep. I found Step 2 secrets to be far superior. I purchased and read First Aid for Step 2 CK based on my positive experience with First Aid for Step 1. Much to my disappointment, First Aid for CK contained quite a large amount of basic information that just isn't high yield on step 2. For example, the basic ins and outs of ECG. On the exam, pertinent ECG findings are usually given, and then you're asked to make a clinical decision (e.g. next test or step in management) based on the ECG findings and other data presented. Step 2 secrets is a much more clinically oriented review of material for CK. WARNING: don't rely heavily on First Aid for CK or you'll be disappointed. USMLE world and Kaplan Qbank are probably the best review resources out there, with review books serving as supplements. Unfortunately, First Aid for Step 2 CK was not very helpful. See my review of step 2 secrets, as I consider it to be the best text resource (remember, only as a supplement to online question banks) for CK. I'm not bashing the First Aid series because many are very good books. For example, First Aid for step 2 CS is right on the money (see my review of First Aid for step 2 CS).

3-0 out of 5 stars Helpful
I agree with other reviewers. It doesn't come close to the usefulness of Step 1. It contains too little information considered high yield in the exam. Definitely not to be used by itself.
4-0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not essential
Unlike the step 1 First Aid book, which was simply phenomenal (not to mention vital) for studying for the exam, the First Aid for Step II CK was a so/so text.It's fairly long, and wasn't as concise or as targeted as the step I book, and took more time to really study it and attain the same degree of comfort that I had after reading the first one.Some of this could be accounted for by the sheer scope of the examination itself.Not only does this cover all of the core specialty rotations (and a fair amount of subspecialty info as well) that you will be exposed to as a 3rd year clinical clerk, but it also needs to re-cover a good portion of the step I material that has been delightfully repackaged (i.e. those yummy glycogen storage diseases that you thought were gone forever.... think again!This time, they give you the vague clinical presentation, and then ask about the enzyme).
Read more

Subjects:  1. Medical    2. Medical / Nursing    3. Test Preparation & Review    4. First aid & paramedical services    5. Medical / Test Preparation & Review   


16. Appleton & Lange Review of Pharmacy
by McGraw-Hill Medical
Paperback (26 March, 2004)
list price: $46.95 -- our price: $46.01
(price subject to change: see help)
Isbn: 0071425438
Sales Rank: 40407
Average Customer Review: 3.5 out of 5 stars
US | Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

Reviews (4)

5-0 out of 5 stars Getting into the nitty-gritty chapter of your life
This book immediately gets into the nuts & bolts of the pharmacotherapeutics with cool questions plus amazing rationales. My advice? Study your school lecture notes & review this book at the same time and you'll be amazed at what you've achieved in a month's time.

3-0 out of 5 stars questions too indepth compared to the NAPLEX
I've been out of school for 14 years and erroneously believed the NAPLEX was more clinical than it was 14 years ago. I just took it in July 2005 and I can NOT believe how basic the questions are!!! this book will give you a good idea of your area of weakness.The few "clinical" questions in the NAPLEX were so elementry, I can't believe I wasted all that time and money on APHA's plus Appleton & Lange pharmacy review questions book as well as Kaplan's q-bank questions. I've been specializing in oncology for the past few years and I was not familiar with any of the new drugs on the market. Of the over 2000+ "test" questions between all 3 study aids, there were about 5 in my NAPLEX. I do a lot of calculations in my area of practice so I guess the study aids can help those who need help in pharmacy math. There were quite a few calculations in the "clinical" part. If I had taken this test last year without "studying", I believe I would had done just as well. If you were awake while practicing or in school...the NAPLEX is a piece of cake. There were quite a few 120+ scores.I wish someone would had informed me.
3-0 out of 5 stars Get A Real Review Book Instead
This book is great for quizzing you so you know what subjects to brush up on. THe CD can also get you used to the CAT format. But having taken the NAPLEX after using this book and several others, you will never see these questions on the NAPLEX. The chances of seeing the same question is almost zilch. Its better to know your key subjects well (HTN, DM, HIV, etc) then learn facts here and there about everything. That's what this book does for you. Its a compilation of specific questions. I recommend a review book such as APHA's Comprehensive Pharmacy Review, or Kaplans Naplex review instead. ... Read more

Subjects:  1. Examination Questions    2. Examinations, questions, etc    3. Medical    4. Medical / Nursing    5. Pharmacy    6. Test Preparation & Review    7. Medical / Pharmacy    8. Pharmacology   


17. Kaplan PCAT, 2007 Edition : Pharmacy College Admissions Test (Kaplan Pcat)
by Kaplan Education
Paperback (01 June, 2006)
list price: $45.00 -- our price: $29.70
(price subject to change: see help)
Isbn: 1419577905
Sales Rank: 7934
US | Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

Subjects:  1. Educational Tests And Measurements (Higher Education)    2. Entrance examinations    3. Examinations, questions, etc    4. Medical    5. Medical Education    6. Pharmacy    7. Pharmacy colleges    8. Professional - General    9. Study Guides    10. Test Preparation & Review    11. Tests    12. United States    13. Vocational guidance    14. Examinations & assessment    15. Medical / Test Preparation & Review    16. Medicine: General Issues   


18. Rapid Review Pathology (Rapid Review)
by Mosby
Paperback (01 May, 2004)
list price: $36.95 -- our price: $33.26
(price subject to change: see help)
Isbn: 0323023932
Sales Rank: 8746
Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars
US | Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

Reviews (17)

5-0 out of 5 stars excellent
very well written,too many integrations,especially with biochemistry.Excellent for review for the
5-0 out of 5 stars Goljan Path
This is the single most useful and board relevant book on the market.I had the pleasure of using this text in accompaniment with Dr. Goljan's audio lectures from a review course.The two resources, audio and text, proved to be invaluable in both building my confidence and ability to disect the USMLE Step I exam.Additionally, the images used in the text and referenced in the audio lectures were in fact the very same pictures I saw on my test.I must clarify, however, the audio lectures are not sold with the text.They can, however, be found on the web for those who are really interested.
5-0 out of 5 stars The best review book
This book brings you the exact clues you need to recognize any pathology. It's excellent...Goljan will save my future. ... Read more

Subjects:  1. Medical    2. Medical / Nursing    3. Pathology    4. Test Preparation & Review    5. Medical / Pathology   


19. Crush Step 3
by Hanley & Belfus
Paperback (15 February, 2004)
list price: $33.95 -- our price: $33.95
(price subject to change: see help)
Isbn: 1560536071
Sales Rank: 2675
Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars
US | Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

Reviews (34)

2-0 out of 5 stars never a fan of crush series.
Always went with first aid...not my style...depends on your review style...
5-0 out of 5 stars Fantabulous
I loved the book and the highlights. I just wish the info was spaced out a little more... there is alot of info, but this is what you need for the boards. a must have

4-0 out of 5 stars I became a believer.
I was a believer in First Aid and Blue Prints books that I used for steps 1 and 2.There was no Step 3 First Aid at the time and so I tried this book.This turned out to be an excellent book for step 3 review.It covered the topics sufficiently for adequate review.I used this book in conjunction with "Boards and Wards" and worked questions in the NMS step 3 books as well as the kaplan q-bank.That works.Most say that it is not necessary to spend much time studying for step 3.This is true, but you do need to study some.This book reads quickly and the information is high yield.I highly recommend it and hope that new editions are released over the years. ... Read more

Subjects:  1. General    2. Medical    3. Medical / Nursing    4. Test Preparation & Review    5. Medical / Test Preparation & Review    6. Medicine: General Issues   


20. Case Files: Internal Medicine
by McGraw-Hill Medical
Paperback (02 April, 2004)
list price: $29.95 -- our price: $29.95
(price subject to change: see help)
Isbn: 0071421912
Sales Rank: 13913
Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars
US | Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

Reviews (5)

4-0 out of 5 stars Good Supplement for Internal Med
Case Files is well made and good at what it covers.The format is very readable, giving you a scenario and making you think of a diagnosis and plan.It's much better than skimming a heavy albeit more complete text.That said, while 60 case scenarios are a lot, it can't hit everything, and it's important to have a wide base of knowledge for the Internal Med Clerkship.I read this after reading First Aid for Internal Med a few times, and while I picked up a couple of things that I had little clue about, it mainly reinforced what was in that book.I would recommend Case Files for people who 1) like the scenario format and can't stand outlines/bullets/texts2) are close to taking the shelf exam and want an indication as to how questions might be constructed.MKSAP, however, is probably the closest to the exam you can get.Once again, this is a great supplement, but I would not use this as a primary / singular source.

5-0 out of 5 stars Fantastic study aid
I used this book and did quite well on the shelf exam.I recommend it to anyone who wants to do well on an internal medicine test.It's very complete and the cases allow you to integrate a lot of knowledge in one scenario.

5-0 out of 5 stars Best book and series I've found for 3rd year!
Very easy to understand, more information in it than you get in Blueprints type books, has many differential diagnoses for common symptoms, and is fun to read. ... Read more

Subjects:  1. Case Report    2. Case studies    3. Diseases    4. Internal Medicine    5. Internal Medicine (General)    6. Medical    7. Medical / Nursing    8. Problems and Exercises    9. Test Preparation & Review    10. Clinical & Internal Medicine    11. Medical / Internal Medicine   


1-20 of 200       1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   Next 20
Prices listed on this site are subject to change without notice.
Questions on ordering or shipping? click here for help.

Top